‎Bill on Discrimination against Women passes second reading in Senate

National Assembly

ABUJA (National Assembly’ Report)-

The Senate at the plenary on Thursday September 29, 2016, passed for second reading, a bill for an Act to incorporate and enforce certain provisions of the United Nations Convention on the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women, the protocol to the African Charter on Human and People’s rights on the rights of women in Africa.

This is contained in a statement released to the press through the Office of the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters. The bill which was sponsored by Senator Abiodun Olujimi and 20 others seeks to promote equality, development and advancement of all persons in Nigeria.

“Section 5 of the bill provides that every person, body, institution, community, authority or private enterprise whether public organ or body, institution, individual, communities or authority and private enterprise in Nigeria shall take all appropriate measures, including regulatory policy, fiscal and administrative measure to ensure the full development and advancement of all persons, especially women and girl children for the purpose of guaranteeing to them the exercise and enjoyment of human rights and fundamental freedoms on a basis of non discrimination and equality of all persons,” the statement said.

According to Senator Olujimi in her presentation, the bill further made provision for the adoption of temporary special measures to eliminate discrimination and ensure equal opportunities for majority of Nigerians.

The statement also reported that the Senate read the request of President Buhari for the confirmation of five commissioners for the National Population Commission; They are, Eng. Chief Benedict Ukpong, Gloria Fateya Izonfuo, Barrister Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya, Dr. Hailru Bala and Dr. Eyitayo O. Oyetunji.

However, a request for the confirmation of the appointment of 6 Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission from the President was also read. They are, Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu, May I. Agbamuche-Mbu and AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu. Others are Mohammed Kudu Haruna, Dr. Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche.