Abia Governor Okezie Ikpeazu swears-in Commissioners


The Governor of Abia State, Okezie Ikpeazu has sworn in 23 newly appointed Commissioners to the Abia State Executive Council with the charge to deliver in line with the administration’s five pillars of development following their confirmation by the State House of Assembly.

Speaking during the swearing -in ceremony at the International Conference Centre, Governor Ikpeazu said that lack of logistics should not be an excuse for the new officials to lag behind.

The Governor encouraged the new Commissioners to expand the internally generated revenue base of the state and work in synergy with sister Ministries and Agencies.

He, however, reminded them that the appointment is a call to duty and urged them to put in their best in service of their fatherland.

According to him,they are expected to achieve certain goals in line with the policy of the government.

The State Chief Executive said that his administration is desirous to work faster without compromising quality and warned the Commissioners to be active as he would not hesitate to relieve anyone of duty who fails to perform optimally.

Governor Ikpeazu who pointed that his administration will not tolerate any form of corrupt practices, emphasized that their loyalty as public officers should be to God and to the state.

While Congratulating them on their new appointments which he said were based on their individual competencies and capacities, the Governor stressed his administration’s commitment to give quality service delivery to the people of the state through his five pillars of development.

In a vote of thanks on behalf of his Colleagues, the Commissioner of Finance, Dr. Aham Uko thanked the Governor for finding them fit to serve in his cabinet. He assured that the Commissioners would work in line with the policy thrust of the administration and deliver accordingly.

The Commissioners and their portfolios are;
1. Dr. K. C. K Nwangwa – Education,
2. Mrs Uwaoma Olenwemgwa – Industry,
3. Dr. Joe Osuji – Health
4. Hon. Emma Nwabuko – Public Utilities
5. Hon. Chimaobi Ebisike – Special Duties,
6. Chief John Okoro – Joint Projects
7. Mrs. Ojo Loveth Adimoha – Culture and Tourism
8. Dr. Cosmos Ndukwe – Trade and Investment
9. Hon. Ugbaja Theophilus Odionyemfe – Housing
10. Mr. Onyema Nwachukwu – SME
11. Bob Ogu – Works
12. Sir Gabriel. C. Onyendilefu – Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs
13. Chief Emeka Ikwuagwu – Youths Sports and Social Development
14. Hon. D. K. Uduma- Budget and Planning
15. Barr. Ekele Nwaohammuo – Transport
16. Chief Mrs Ukachi Amala – Women Affairs
17. Hon. Prince Ezekwesiri – Co-operatives and Rural Development
18. Dr. Solomon Ogunji – Environment.
Others are,  
19, Chief Ikpechukwu Onuoha  – Petroleum & Solid Mineral Development
20. Prince Okoli Daniel Iheanacho -Homeland Security
21. Barr. Suleiman Ukandu – Land, Survey & Urban Planning,
22. Dr. Aham Uko – Finance
Hon. Chijioke Madumere – Science & Technology

Abiakam Gloria Ifeyinwa
FIC. Umuahia, Abia State.