Amaechi inaugurates 11-Man Governing Board of Nigerian Ports Authority

The Minister of Transportation, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi (m), Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Sabiu Zakari on his right, Chairman NPA Governing Board, Emmanuel Olajide Adesoye and Managing Director, NPA, Hadiza Bala Usman on his left during the inauguration ceremony.

ABUJA (Transport Ministry’ Report)-The Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, has inaugurated an 11- Man Governing Board, following the approval of the appointment of the Governing Board of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Minister while inaugurating the Board Members at the Conference Room of the Ministry of Transportation in Abuja recently, noted that their appointment was strictly guided by the Federal Government Circular Ref N0. SWC/S04/S.310/T/65 of 8th April 2016, on Revised frequency of meetings for part-time members of Government Committees, Boards of Federal Agencies, Statutory Corporations and Government-Owned Companies issued by National Salaries, Income and wages Commission. “Your appointment is part-time. I repeat your appointment is part-time,” he said.

Amaechi reiterated that as Governing Board members, they were responsible for setting Operational and Administrative Policies in line with Government policy directives aimed at assisting the NPA to achieve its mandate and also responsible for measuring performance against targets as well as introducing broad policy measures that will curtail deviations in order to achieve the set targets.

He enjoined them to engender harmonious working relationship with the Management of NPA in order to achieve the overall objectives of Government for appointing the Board Members.

The Minister further said that the Federal Government was committed to the repositioning and restructuring of Parastatals and Agencies under the Ministry of Transportation including the NPA and function in line with best practices.

The Board members include;

Emmanuel Olajide Adesoye as Chairman,
Mrs I.J. Uche-Okoro  Member representing Federal Ministry of Transportation
Hadiza Bala Usman, MD NPA    Member
Mohammed Bello Koko             Member
Dr. Sekonte Davis                    Member
Prof. Iddris Abubakar                Member
Others are Supo Shasore           Member
Suileman Ibrahim Haliu             Member
Constance Harry Marshal           Member
Umar Shuai’bu                           Member
Charles Efe Emukowhate Sylvester    Member

While responding on behalf of other members, the Chairman, Emmanuel Olajide Adesoye expressed the Board’s appreciation to President Muhammadu Buhari for considering them worthy to serve the nation in this capacity and pledged that the Board in collaboration with the management of NPA and the Ministry will explore strategies to ensure; the speedy passage into law “the Ports and Harbour bill” by the National Assembly; committed to the pursuit of excellence in service predicated on zero tolerance to corruption and other vices as well as; strengthen the regulatory role of Concessionaires at all the Ports.