Cosmos Ndukwe Sworn-In as the New Commissioner For Works, Abia State, 17 LGA Transition Committee Chairmen and their Deputies also Sworn-In


A former Commissioner for Trade and Investment, Rt. Hon Dr. Cosmos Ndukwe has been sworn in as the new Commissioner for Works alongside 17 new Transition Committee Chairmen of the 17 LGAs and their Deputies.

Speaking during the ceremony at the Banquet Hall, Government House Umuahia, Governor Okezie Ikpeazu charged the new Commissioner to bring his wealth of experience to bear in successful completion of all ongoing road projects in the state.

The Governor assured that government’s commitment to Abians is unshakeable, adding that the Ministry of Works is strategic in the development agenda of the state as well as the completion agenda of his administration.

To that end,he directed the new Commissioner to immediately take stock and draw up plans to help Government deliver on existing infrastructural projects.

He further charged him to be careful about the disposition of contractors handling jobs for the state to ensure that they justify every kobo released to them and expressed confidence in the ability of the new Commissioner to deliver in his new assignment.

He made it public that the Transition Committee Chairmen and their Deputies were carefully selected and implored them to immediately hit the ground running.

Governor Ikpeazu charged them to visit major political gladiators in their areas as well as interface with all candidates of the party in the forthcoming general elections in order to enhance electoral fortunes of the party.

The Governor also urged them to pursue collective goals for the betterment of the welfare of the people at the grassroots.

Responding, the new Commissioner for Works, Dr Cosmos Ndukwe and Chief Ukwu Rocks Emma on behalf of other TC Chairmen thanked the Governor for finding them fit and promised to justify the confidence reposed in them.

The new TC Chairmen and their deputies are;
Aba North – Stanley Ogbonna – Chairman,
Isdore Egejuru -Deputy,
Aba South – Chima Mbama – Chairman, Daniel Okereke- Deputy,
Arochukwu – Daniel Kalu – Chairman, Chief Felix Ukpabi -Deputy,
Bende LGA- Ukwu Rocks Emma- Chairman, John Mark -Deputy
Ikwuano LGA- Williams Ukatu Chimechefulam- Chairman, Imo Buchi Stephen – Deputy.

Others are Isialangwa North LGA- Chinedu Ugoala- Chairman, Uba Anyanwu- Deputy.

Isialangwa South- Prince Enyioma Okpanku- Chairman,Chimeremeze Nwankwo- Deputy.

Isiukwuato Ndubuisi Paschal Ukeje – Chairman,
Demian Maduike- Deputy,
Obingwa- George Ubani – Chairman,Enyinnaya Lazarus-Deputy,
Ohafia – James Ndukwe- Chairman, Ikechukwu Iroha- Deputy
Osisioma Ngwa Ogumka Iheanacho- Chairman, Uchenna Jumbo – Deputy.

Ugwunagbo LGA – Robinson Ndukwu- Chairman,
Okey Wambu Godwin-Deputy,

Ukwa East – Godson Umunna Nwulu-Chairman, Iheanyi Jonathan Nnah -Deputy.

Ukwa West – John Ajuzieogu- Chairman,
Chikodi Ogbonna-Deputy

Umuahia North – Godson Nwankwo- Chairman,
Okechi Utah- Deputy.
Umuahia South – Nnachebe Uhiara- Chairman,
Nnamdi Balaogu- Deputy.
Umunneochi George Offor- Chairman, Ken Madubuike – Deputy.

The Deputy Governor Sir Ude Oko Chukwu, Secretary to Government, Barrister Chris Ezem, Head of Service, Sir Onyii Wamah, a former Governorship Aspirant, Mr Lucky Igbokwe, Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Rt Hon Christopher Enweremadu and other Members of the State Executive among other top government functionaries witnessed the ceremony.