Dare inaugurates Nigeria Olympic Committee Board of Trustees


The Honourable Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr Sunday Dare has inaugurated the Board of Trustees (BOT) of the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC).

Dare who was supported at the ceremony held today at the Headquarters of the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA) in Abuja, by the President, Nigeria Olympic Committee, Engr. Habu Gumel, congratulated the new Board Members and Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) for working assiduously towards the revitalisation of the BOT after the unfortunate demise of its pioneer members.

The Minister who was represented at the occasion by his Chief of Staff, Alhaji Abba Yola called on them to take advantage of the National Sports Industry Policy (NSIP) recently approved by the Federal Executive Council, to drive the development of sports in the country.

He commended the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) for its commitment and doggedness that led to the successes recorded at the 2022 Commonwealth Games despite the absence of its Board of Trustees.

Mr. Dare who pledged the Ministry’s unflinching support to the Board and NOC, expressed optimism that with the calibre of persons inaugurated today, Nigeria is set to record more podium performances at International Competitions.

Speaking earlier, the President of the Nigeria Olympic Committee, (NOC), Engr. Habu Gumel explained that the delay in the inauguration of the BOT was as a result of necessary documentation and registration of its members at the Corporate Affairs Commission as well as the demise of five former BOT members.

According to him, “after their passage, we were constrained to fill the vacuum created as a matter of statutory requirement. In the face of this, we made a proposal to the Executive Board which led to the nomination and eventual appointment of the new Trustees we are inaugurating today”.

He urged the new appointees to support the objectives and aspirations of the Nigeria Olympic Committee by giving their best service to the nation in order to bring to reality, the dreams and aspirations of sports loving Nigerians in the field.

Members of the newly inaugurated Board of Trustees are:

  1. Amb Haruna Garba
  1. Hon. Ayo H. Omidiran
  2. Dr. Lanre Glover
  3. Mr. Jackson Bidei
  4. Hon. Lumumba Dah Adeh
  5. Mr. Suleiyman Mu’azu
  6. Mr. Obi Asika

Mohammed Manga
Director, Press and Public Relations