Nigerian National Merit award holds 10th annual forum of laureates of the NNOM


The Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA) is set to host its 2017 Annual Forum of Laureates of the Nigeria National Order of Merit (NNOM), Award Winners’ Lecture and Investiture of 2017 Awardees.

The Annual Forum of Laureates is scheduled to hold on 5th – 6th December, 2017 at the NNMA Secretariat, Merit House Maitama, Abuja from 8:00am – 5:00pm daily with the theme ‘’GOVERNANCE REFORMS AND HUMAN SECURITY IN NIGERIA’’, while the Investiture of the 2017 Awardees will hold on Thursday 7th December, 2017 at the Council Chambers, Presidential Villa, Abuja by 10am.

The Forum of Laureates is one of the programmes of the NNMA, and its basic objectives is to promote a platform which enables the public and private sectors and the general public to engage and participate in meaningful discussions/ interactions with Laureates of the Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) to share their wealth of knowledge on specific issues relevant to nation building.

The 2017 Annual Forum of Laureates, the 10th in series is expected to be declared opened by His Excellency President Muhummadu Buhari GCFR on Tuesday 5th December, 2017 and the Keynote address is to be delivered by Professor Attahiru Muhammadu Jega, OFR, former Chairman, INEC.

Also in the line-up of activities is the Award Winners’ Lecture which is to be delivered by one of the Laureates, Professor Abiodun Francis Oluwole, NNOM on Wednesday 6th December, 2017 at the Merit House Main Auditorium on the topic ‘’NUCLEAR STUDIES & APPLICATION OF NUCLEAR ANALYTICAL METHODS’’ by 3:00p.m.

This will be followed by the 2017 NNOM Investiture on two deserving Nigerians holding on the 7th December, 2017 at the Council Chambers, Presidential Villa, Abuja where the President will statutorily confer the NNOM Award on the recipients, namely:-
A) Professor Adesoji Adediran Adesina- Engineering/Technology
B) Mr. Bruce Paul Obomoyema Onobrakpeya- Humanities
The 3-day activities will be rounded up by a Group Dinner in Honour of the 2017 NNOM Laureates by 7:00pm at the Congress Hall, Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Maitama, Abuja. The Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo is expected as Special Guest at the Dinner.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Barr. Boss Mustapha is to serve as Chief Host; while the occasion will be chaired by the Chairman, Governing Board of the NNMA, Professor Shekarau Yakubu Aku, FAEng, FNSE, FSESN.R

All Laureates of the Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM), Stakeholders and the general public are hereby invited to grace this occasion.

Alheri Davo (Mrs.)