Science and Tech Ministry to boost SMEs

Science and Technology Minister, Ogbonnaya Onu

The Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Dgbonnaya Onu has said that the ministry will continue to deploy suitable technologies for the promotion of small medium Enterprises      SMEs, so as to ensure economic diversification and sustainable economic growth.

Dr. Onu said this in a speech he delivered at the African SME Expo held at the federal palace hotel, Lagos at the weekend.

In furtherance of this,. Dr. Onu said agencies of the Ministry like National Board for Technology Incubation (NBTI), Federal Institute for Industrial Research Oshodi (FIRO), Raw Materials Research and Development Council (RMRDC) and Energy Commission of Nigeria (ECN). Have established centres in different states to provide support to SMEs across the country, adding that they have trained and empowered so many entrepreneurs through their various technologies and innovative skills programmes.

According to Dr. Onu, the Ministry is aligning with the government’s economic diversification drive because diversification provides a nation with security and reliability to withstand the volatility that may happen because of reliance on one economic revenue stream

He added that the application of science, technology and innovation across sectors will create direct jobs, contribute to growth in Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Create new products and services create SMEs, transform workforce, improve living standards, and enhance international trade.

The Ministry, he added, is committed to the federal Government’s diversification drive using the tool of Science, Technology and Innovation.

Dr. Onu further said the ministry is determined to discharge its mandate through the operation of its agencies to stimulate the various sectors of Nigeria’s economy.

Several technologies and Research and Development (R and D) results products have been developed by the ministry‘s research institutions and are ready for commercialization, he added.

AbdulGaniyu Aminu.

Deputy Director and Chief Press Secretary