Summary of Plenary proceedings of the House of Representatives for Tuesday, July 4th, 2023  

National Assembly

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas presided.


Nomination of Leadership of the Minority Caucus:

1. Minority Leader: Hon. Kingsley Chinda

2.Minority Whip: Hon. Ali Isa

III. Deputy Minority Leader: Hon. Aliyu Sani Madaki

Iv. Deputy Minority Whip: Hon. George Ozodinobi

2. Nomination of Leadership of the Ruling Party (APC):

  1. House Leader: Hon. Julius Ihonvbere
  2. Chief Whip: Hon. Usman Kumo

III. Deputy Leader: Hon. Abdullahi Halims

  1. Deputy Chief Whip: Hon. Adewunmi Onanuga.

3. The Ad-Hoc committee on the review of the Standing Orders of the House calls on Honorable Members wishing to contribute to the review of the House Rules to forward their contributions to Room 6 White House (House of Representatives)


 1. Need to Recharge and Restore Lake Chad: Hon Ahmed Mohammed Munir.

The motion on the need to recharge and restore Lake Chad was moved by Hon. Ahmed Munir and was seconded by Hon. Babajimi Benson. Hon. Ahmed Jaha proposed an amendment to the motion asking the Lake Chad Basin Commission to add support to the prayers of the motion. The motion was voted on and adopted as amended.

2. Call on the Federal Government to Construct Lafia-Doma-Ruttu-Bassa-Rafin Gabas-Nasarawa-Orozo Road:  Hon. Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi Hon. Abubakar Hassan Nalaraba Hon. Abubakar Sarki Dahiru Hon. Ari Abdulmumin Mohammed:

The motion on the Federal Government to construct Lafia-Doma-Ruttu-Bassa-Rafin Gabas-Nasarawa-Ozoro road was moved by Hon. Jonathan Gaza Gbwefi and it was seconded by Hon. Eze Nwachukwu. The motion was voted on and adopted.

3. Need to Address the Disagreement on Police Recruitment Process between the Police Force Headquarters and the Police Service Commission:  Hon. Mohammed Bello El-Rufai:

The motion on the need to address the disagreement on police recruitment process between the Police Force Headquarters and Police Service Commission was moved by Hon. Bello El-Rufai. Before it was seconded, however; Hon. Ademorin Kuye raised a point of order hinging on Order 9, Rule 1(5) as the subject matter of the motion is still a matter of litigation in the Court. The motion was then stepped down by the leave of the House.

4. Abandoned Oseakwa Seaport at Ihiala Local Government Area in Anambra State: Hon. Paschal Agbodike. The motion was referred to the House Committee on Maritime Safety, Education, and Administration when constituted.

5. Need to Introduce Leadership Training in the Curriculum of Primary and Tertiary Schools in Nigeria: Hon. Ojuawo Rufus Adeniyi.

The motion was voted on and adopted and then referred to the House Committee on Basic Education and Services and that on Tertiary Education and Services when constituted.

6. Need to Investigate the Alleged Abuse of 2.3 Trillion Naira generated from Tertiary Education Tax by the Tertiary Education Trust Fund from 2011 to 2013: Hon. Olusola Fatoba Hon. David Fouh Hon. Zakari Nyanpa.

The motion was voted on and adopted. An Ad-Hoc committee was constituted to investigate this, the membership was announced and it is to be Chaired by Hon. Wole Oke.


The House adjourned at 13:43 p.m. to Wednesday, July 5th, 2023.