Sylva inaugurates NNPC Board

Sylva inaugurates NNPC Board

The Hon. Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva has inaugurated the newly constituted Board of the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

The members of the NNPC Board who had on 2nd June, 2020 been approved by President Mohammadu Buhari are the Hon.Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Slylva who doubles as the Alternate Chairman of the Board, Mallam Mele Kolo Kyari, GMD of NNPC, Senator Magnus Abe, Dr. Isah Dutse, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance, Dr. Tajudeen Umaru, Dr. Steven Dike, Mrs Lami Ahmed, Chief Pius Akinyelure, Malam Mohammed Lawal and Secretary of the Board, Mrs. Hadiza Commassie.

The new Board, for administrative expediency, is further constituted into three main committees namely; Establishment Chaired by Malam Mohammed Lawal, Finance headed by Chief Pius Akinyelure, and the Audit Chaired by Dr. Steve Dike.

In his address to the board, Chief Sylva said the management of the NNPC has rolled out an agenda for attaining global excellence. The agenda christened TAPE (Transparency Accountability and Performance Excellence) aligns with the Federal Government’s transparency and Zero tolerance for corruption.

The Minister disclosed that his administration has made some significant strides in some grey areas. These include resolving the dispute between the Host Community of Belema and Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria (SPDC), NLNG Train 7 Final Investment Decision (Train 7 FID), Expansion of Gas Infrastructure to meet the Power Sector requirements amongst others.

Meanwhile the Board has through it’s Secretary, scheduled its next meeting for 23rd July, 2020.

Mrs. Enefaa Bob-manuel
Deputy Director (Information)
Ministry of Petroleum Resources