Be Faithful Taxpayers: George Akume Urges Nigerians

Minister of Special Duties - Senator George Akume

The Federal Government of Nigeria has called on Nigerians to be faithful tax payers to enable the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) deliver in funding the education sector.

Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs Senator George Akume made this known during a courtesy call on him by the Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigeria, yesterday.

While noting that the challenges in the educational sector are many, especially in the area of funding and space, “If our resources are properly managed, TETFUND can be better placed to support University education in the country”, the Minister said. With harnessing of resources, the Federal Government can deliver in the provision of basic amenities especially in the education sector, he reiterated.

Akume noted that TETFUND was established to improve education tax revenue and make such available for education intervention programmes.

He seized the opportunity to call on Universities in the country yet to key into the Integrated Payroll and Personnel Information System (IPPIS) to do so as the migration of Universities to IPPIS for salary payments will ensure effectiveness and efficiency of payroll administration. He expressed pleasure with the outstanding performance of Nigerian Universities over the years.

Earlier, the leader of the Committee of Vice Chancellors Professor Yakubu Ochefu said the main reason for visiting the Minister was to solicit for the Ministry’s cooperation and support for the commemoration of 60 years of the founding of the Committee of Vice Chancellors. The CVC is seeking for assistance in the production and publication of a compendium of Universities in the country that will serve as an information memorandum. This is in addition to research and production of a documentary on the establishment and history of the Committee of Vice Chancellors (CVC).

Other members of the team on the visit were: Messrs. Awoliyi, Orodele, Ayua and Mrs. Ikwagba.

The Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Universities is a quasi- governmental non – profit organization that was established in 1962 by a resolution adopted at a meeting of Vice Chancellors of five Nigerian Universities with a vision for the attainment of academic excellence through cooperation and exchange of ideas.

With originally five members comprising University of Ibadan (UI), University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN), Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), University of Lagos and Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), the CVC currently has 174 members.

Osagie Jacobs Julie (Mrs.)
D.D Press
13 August, 2020