HCSF, Folasade Honours Abimbola, Head PPP Housing Ministry

HCSF, Folasade Honours Abimbola, Head PPP Housing Ministry

The Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF) has given an award of honour to the Head of the Public Private Partnership Unit of the Federal Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, Arc. Abimbola Adenike Asein, for her dedication and excellent contributions to the mandate of the Housing Ministry.

The honour was in line with the Service -Wide Awards and Recognition, aimed at rewarding and recognizing outstanding Civil Servants in the Federal Civil Service.

The award which include cash was presented to Arc. Asein by the Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, CFR alongside the Chairman, AIG- Imoukhuede foundation Aigboje AIG- Imoukhuede CFR, and the Minister of youth development, Dr. Jamila Bio Ibrahim, on Saturday during the Award and Gala Night of the 2024 Civil Service Week, in Abuja.

This year’s Civil Service Week commenced on Friday, 14th June, 2024, with the theme “Educate an African Fit for the 21st Century: Building Resilient Education Systems for Increased Access to Inclusive, Lifelong, Quality and Relevant Learning in Africa”.

Arc. Abimbola Asein was particularly awarded for working and implementing several federal government housing and works programs nationwide, including affordable housing, as well as the highways developments and management initiatives in Nigeria.

The Secretary to the government of the federation, Dr. George Akume, represented President Bola Ahmed Tinubu at the occasion

The President congratulated all the awardees, reminding them that to whom much is given, much is also expected.

He said, “As you are honoured today, remember that with recognition comes responsibility. Your continued dedication is essential as we strive for excellence in service to our nation”.

In her address, the Head of Civil Service of the federation Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, informed that Ministries Departments and Agencies were requested by the Standing Service-Wide Awards Selection Committee (SWASCo), to forward nominations based on a set of criteria and weightings provided in the approved Rewards and Recognition Scheme Guidelines, in order to ensure a transparent and credible selection process;
and according to her, the committee by its mandates screened nominations made by the Ministerial Selection Committee of MDAs, and selected deserving officers for the various categories of awards.

“Nominations were received from Forty-Six (46) Ministries and Extra-Ministerial Departments, out of which Six (6) Ministries were disqualified for lack of Citation which was the basis for assessment of nominees and Six (6) Ministries submitted double nominations, hence the total number of nominations received and assessed was Fifty –Two (52) nominees”, she explained.

Dr. Yemi-Esan also disclosed that Thirty-Nine Nominees scored above the cut-off mark and were selected for the 2024 Edition of the Federal Civil Service Rewards and Recognition, after a rigorous selection process in line with the Service-Wide Criteria and Weighting.

She announced that the categories of awards for presentation at the 2024 Edition of the Service-Wide Rewards and Recognition were: Presidential Distinguished Public Service Career Award, Presidential Civil Service Merit Award, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation Award, The Public Service Excellence Award, 2024 Sports Achievement Award; and an award for three Ministries who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to Work-Life balance of their staff.

She further stated that the OHCSF enjoyed collaboration with stakeholders and partners from both public and private sectors to scale up the level of intervention of the Reward and Recognition Scheme, aimed at enhancing value proposition for civil servants; adding that a cash gift of N500,000 would be given to each of the best performing civil servants from the MDAs, as facilitated by Private Sector Partners, Aig-Imoukhuede Foundation.

In attendance at the award night were some ministers of the federal republic of Nigeria, several permanent secretaries, representatives of the workers’ Unions (NLC and TUC), representatives of the Consortium of Insurance Companies, alongside other dignitaries.

Badamasi Salisu Haiba
Director Information and Public Relations