NEMA Distributes Seedlings To Farmers In Anambra State

NEMA Officials

ANAMBRA STATE(FIC Report)-The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) in collaboration with the Anambra State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), and the Anambra State Ministry of Agriculture has commenced the distribution of farm seedlings to victims of the 2018 flood disaster in Anambra State.

NEMA team leader, Mrs. Bolanle Ojo, explained to Newsmen in Awka that seven Local Government Areas affected in the national flood disaster would be beneficiaries during the exercise. The Local Government Areas include: Anambra East, Anambra West, Ogbaru, Ayamelum, Orumba North, Awka North and Ihiala.

She listed the seedlings to include :rice, maize, yams, cassava stems, tomato and pepper.

Mrs. Ojo pledged that the seedlings would go round all the affected farmers, stressing that seedlings are part of Federal Government intervention to cushion the hardship experienced by the farmers in the coastal areas of the State, where farmlands were submerged by floodwaters last year.

The Transition Committee Chairman, Anambra West Council Area, Mr. Sylvester Okafor, thanked the team for ensuring that the famers received the seedlings.

One of the beneficiaries, Mr. Ignatius Onyejekwe from Aguleri commended the State and Federal Governments for the assistance.

Another beneficiary from Ogbaru, Mrs. Agnes Ikeji said she had never experienced this type of intervention and thanked the Gov. Willie Obiano, who attracted the intervention from the Federal Government, praying the Almighty God to bless him and the FG.

Asika Ikemefuna

PEO I (Information)/ Head of Centre,

FIRC, Awka