Nigeria Celebrates June 12 As Maiden Democracy Day


ABUJA – (Web Content Management Team Report) – Nigerian Citizens and those in the diaspora have celebrated the 2019 Democracy Day on Wednesday 12th of June 2019 at the Eagle Square, Abuja. While commenting on the celebration, analysts said that the celebration symbolized the restoration of the erstwhile Democracy Day observed as a Public Holiday every year on May 29th.

They recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari declared on June 6, 2018 that the nation’s new Democracy Day should be held on June 12 of every year, replacing May 29th as a National public holiday. According to them, the decision was in a bid to honour the winner of the annulled June 13, 1993 Presidential election, Moshood Abiola (Chief). They added that he awarded him the highest national honour in Nigeria which is the Grand Commander of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as his running mate Babagana Kingibe (Alh) and Late Human Rights Activist, Gani Fewehinmi (Chief) who was awarded, Grand Commander of Niger.

President Muhammadu Buhari in his opening address at the occasion stated that peace and unity will be a collective legacy in the present administration, adding that Nigerians must continue to be good citizens and good neigbhours to each other. He further stated that Nigeria’s wealth lies in agriculture and that the country’s GDP is expected to grow by 2.7% this year, just as his administration will work with the private sector to accelerate economic growth.

He stressed that the Nigerian government will continue to reduce social inequalities through the social investment programmes as well as ensure that electricity is available and affordable for all Nigerians. He furthher proposed that the National Stadium would be renamed after Chief MkO Abiola.

Present at the ceremony were Nigeria’s Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo; the Chief Justice of the Federation, Tanko Mohammed; the newly elected president of the Senate, Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan; the Speaker of the House of Representative, Femi Gbajamila; the Chief of Naval Staff, Ibok Ekwe Ibas; Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Yusuf Buratai (Lieutenant General); Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Air Marshal) and the Inspector – General of Police, Mohammed Adamu.

The Ceremony also witnessed the presence of some African Heads of States, Diplomatic Corps, Executives of parastatals, Chairmen of Statutory Commissions, Heads of Para- Military and Security Agencies, the President of the Court of Appeal and Permanent Secretaries of Federal Ministries. Others were: the Head of Service of the Federation; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Members of the National Assembly and Chairmen of Political Parties.