President seeks confirmation of non career ambassadors

National Assembly

ABUJA (National Assembly’ Report) – President Muhammadu Buhari has sought for the Senate’s confirmation on the appointment of 46 non career ambassadors and Justices of the Supreme Court.

The correspondence which was forwarded by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters, Ita Enang, was read by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki at the plenary on Thursday October 20, 2016.

According to the correspondence, the list completes the first list of ambassadors- designate submitted earlier for career ambassadors.

The ambassadorial nominees were, Uzoma Emenike (Dr) – Abia State; Clifford Zirra (Dr) – Adamawa State; Godwin G. Umo – Akwa Ibom State; Christopher J. N. Okeke – Anambra State; Yusuf Tuggar – Bauchi State; Baba Madugu – Bauchi State; Stanley Diriya – Bayelsa State; Enyantu Ifenne (Dr) – Benue State; Mohammed Hayatudeen – Borno State; Etubom N. E. Asuquo (Dr) – Cross River State; Francis Efeduma (Engr) – Delta State; Jonah M. Odo – Ebonyi State; Uyagwe Igbe – Edo State; Ayodele L. Ayodeji – Ekiti; Chris Eze – Enugu; Suleiman Hassan (Alh) – Gombe; Amin Muhammad Dalhatu – Jigawa; Muhammad Yaro- Kaduna; Deborah S. Ilya – Kaduna; Prof. D. Andulkadir – Kano; Haruna Ungogo (Alh) – Kano and Isa Dodo (Justice) – Katsina.

Other nominees submitted for confirmation by the Senate were, Usman Bugaje (Dr) – Katsina State; Tijani Bande (Prof) – Kebbi State; Y. O. Aliu (Prof) – Kogi State; Nuruddeen Mohammed – Kwara State; Mohammed G Yisa (Prof) – Kwara State; George Adesola Oguntade (Justice) – Lagos State; Sen. O. Mamora – Lagos State; Modupe Irele – Lagos State; Musa llu Muhammed – Nassarawa State; Mohammed Ibeto – Niger State; Ade Asekun – Ogun State; Sola lji (Barrister) – Ondo State; Adegboyega A. Ogunwusi – Osun State; Ashimiyu A. Olaniy – (Oyo State); Pauline Talin – (Plateau State); Haruna Bawa Abdullahi (Dr) – Plateau State; Orji Ngofa – Rivers State; Sylvanus Adiewere Nsofor (Justice) – Rivers State; Jamilia Ahmadu-Suka – Sokoto State; Kabiru Umar (Hon) – Sokoto State; Mustapha Jaji (Alh) – Taraba State; Goni Modu Zanna Bura – Yobe State; Garba Gajam (Alh) – Zamfara State and Abdullahi Uba Garbassi (Cpt) – Zamfara State.

The Senate also considered the request by Mr. President on the confirmation of nomination for appointment of Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria in accordance with section 231(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The nominated Justices were, Justice Sidi Dauda Baqe (Hon), representing North Central Zone and Justice Paul Adamu Galinje (Hon) representing the North East.

The correspondence was referred to the committee on Justice, Legal Matters and Human Right.